Thirty Something : A Confession Of Weakness

I saw a girl today
At the grocery store
Looking at bacon
She looked like you
Standing there
Flannel and skinny jeans
Rust red shoes
Those damn gold curls
I froze in place
Flooding full of memories
Hunting for you in the isles
Seeing you
Heart a flutter
I should have showed it more
So I panicked instead of facing them
The fears that took this poor girls form
I ran
To the check stand
Take my fucking money
Just get me away
It’s not time to…
It was
And I failed

Leave a Reply

